Are you lost, little tube train?

You may have noticed that I’ve been tinkering with the format here. I don’t know if I’m going to stick with it, but any feedback would be appreciated. Admin aside, here’s some stuff I’ve found.

I’m in the habit of carrying a small camera around with me when I stroll through London in case I see anything interesting. Last week in Camden (when I bitched about hat vendors) I found a very unusual shop which, sadly, I didn’t have space to include in the entry. By which I mean, that entry was ridiculously long already. Anyway, here it is:

img_0171I’ve seen some interesting conversions of buses, but this is the first time I’ve seen one turned into an estate agent. I don’t know how it came to be there, but given the nature of its current use, I’d imagine the estate agents lured it in and ate the passengers. I kid, I kid, I’m sure they’re lovely people.

Although it resembles a Routemaster at first glance, it’s actually an RT. Your man the RT was the predecessor of the Routemaster, first put into service in 1938. Like the Routemaster, it was the iconic bus of its day and continued in service for several decades, the last being withdrawn in the 1970s. Apparently it makes a surprisingly practical office space.

See http://www.countrybus.org.uk/RT/RT.htm for more info on the RT.

It was while strolling through Great Ormond Street Hospital looking to feed my horrendous multiple drug addictions that I came across this:

img_0181

It’s a tube train carriage which now serves as the hospital radio station. While all tube trains look basically the same, for the simple reason that if it ain’t broke you don’t fix it, this particular carriage can be identified as 1983 stock by the single doors, the flat ends and the fact that it appears to be made of balsa wood. The 1983 stock was built for the Jubilee Line and was withdrawn fifteen years later – they were unreliable in service and the single doors made boarding slow. All have been withdrawn, and many have been scrapped. A number have been preserved, notably on the Broad Street Viaduct where they’ve been converted into artists’ studios. Their aluminium construction makes them lightweight and pretty¬†rustproof, and of course there are plenty of windows.

Further reading on the 1983 stock: http://www.squarewheels.org.uk/rly/stock/1983tubeStock/

1 Comment

Filed under Arts, Bloomsbury, Buildings and architecture, Camden, London, London Underground, Randomness, Transport, Weird shops

One response to “Are you lost, little tube train?

  1. Pingback: Peter Pan – The True Story | London Particulars

Leave a Reply

